But I do know about important topics in science and healthcare

I don't know much Podcast
2 min readJul 6, 2021

Season 2 of I don’t know much begins on July 7, 2021, and it takes a sharp turn from COVID-19 vaccines.

Listen to I don’t know much here

With the COVID-19 pandemic slowing down in Canada, I wanted to use I don’t know much as a way for all of us to learn about some new topics in science and healthcare!

As a recently graduated Bachelors of Science student, I am excited about the future post-pandemic but also wary about the new issues we are going to face as a society. Throughout this season I will be speaking with my classmates from McMaster University and some doctor’s to cover a wide range of interesting and timely topics.

I really enjoyed speaking about the COVID-19 vaccines in Season 1 but I hope you are all as excited as me to hear about some different news and from some different voices that are going to help shape the future of science and healthcare.

Topics for this season address some of the issues that are a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, like the long surgical backlogs we are currently facing in Canada. Gender biases and other inequities within the healthcare system can contribute to these backlogs. However, there are solutions that have been introduced that could benefit patient care and address the systemic inequities that have fuelled some of these backlogs.

Furthermore, addressing climate change is going to become a high priority over the next few years, and in one episode, I address how our own healthcare system contributes to environmental pollution and possible solutions these facilities can take to improve their carbon footprint.

I also had the opportunity to chat with Dr. Matthew Galati, a practicing physician and the founder of Brain Changes Initiative, who helps me bring awareness to traumatic brain injury recovery in a very interesting episode!

Finally, the threat of antibiotic resistance continues to grow as antibiotics are over-prescribed and drug discovery and development firms move towards drugs that have a higher return on investment. With experience in an infectious disease lab, I talk about the threat of antibiotic resistance and how we got here.

But don’t worry, it’s not just me speaking about these topics! You’ll hear from many different guests that help me address each topic in an understandable way! Stay tuned for Season 2!

By: Miranda Zary

Follow I don’t know much on Instagram: @idontknowmuchpod

Listen to I don’t know much on any podcast platform today: https://anchor.fm/idontknowmuch

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/idontknowmuch

--

--

I don't know much Podcast

Podcast that discusses COVID-19 vaccines and other interesting topics in science in an understandable way! I don’t know much… but I do know about …